F-22 IRST

Anything goes, as long as it is about the Lockheed Martin F-22 Raptor
Elite 1K
Elite 1K

by disconnectedradical » 15 Feb 2019, 23:23

So back in late 1990s it was reported that IRST on F-22 was canceled. According to some articles the space and cooling for the IRST is still there. Is that still the case today? Or did that space get used for something else?

Elite 5K
Elite 5K

by mixelflick » 16 Feb 2019, 13:16

I would think if it was a desperately needed capability, it'd be there right now (or at least funding for it). The greater priority seems to be getting the AIM-120D and 9x/block II/III on the jet.

It's been said legacy birds have around half a dozen ways to look for/track/get a firing solution on enemy aircraft. Has also been said the F-22 has around 300 and the F-35 600 plus.

I can only name a few: Radar. IRST. Electro optical.

How the hell are they coming up with "hundreds"? I mean, OK I'm not an engineer dealing with these things but... hundreds? If so, more power to them. In any case, the F-22 as is has "ways" of finding, targeting and destroying enemy aircraft before they even know they're under attack. Ditto for the F-35.

I'm sure glad I'm not flying Flankers for Russia/China...

Elite 2K
Elite 2K

by charlielima223 » 16 Feb 2019, 21:39

disconnectedradical wrote:So back in late 1990s it was reported that IRST on F-22 was canceled. According to some articles the space and cooling for the IRST is still there. Is that still the case today? Or did that space get used for something else?

note item L
The leading edge flaps were extended farther inboard. The area now occupied by the flaps near the fuselage was previously reserved for dual infrared search and track sensors

However in an article about both F-22 and F-35 a little hint was dropped
http://www.airforcemag.com/MagazineArch ... ricks.aspx