F16 Nozzle position Schedule

Always wondered why the F-16 has a tailhook, or how big a bigmouth F-16's mouth really is ? Find it out here !

by leonidasth » 07 Apr 2019, 00:18

Greetings ,
My name is Leonidas and I am a Mechanical Engineering student. I started my thesis on the F110 and F100 engines that power the F16 fighter jet. I need to create a model that calculates with precision the performance parameters of these engines at any given conditions. I am missing some vital information though and I would like to ask you the following questions.
1) Does anyone know what the Nozzle position schedule is or the exact position of the nozzle for different PLA inputs?
2)Is the connection between the PLA and the fuel mass flow linear?
Thank you.

by f119doctor » 09 Apr 2019, 21:10

For the F100 engine (can't speak for the F110), the major throttle positions (Power Lever Angle - PLA) are:
0 degrees - cutoff
16 degrees - Idle
86 degrees - Intermediate or Military
91 degrees - Min AB
130 degrees - Max AB

With the landing gear handle down, the nozzle is open to approximately 80% - 90% at Idle. It ramps closed to approximately 10% open as the throttle is advanced to 50 degrees. It stays fixed at the 10% open position as the throttle is advanced toward Intermediate. With the landing gear handle up, the nozzle stays at that 10% position all the way down to Idle.

At around 80 degrees PLA to Intermediate, the -220 and -229 engines pick up a Fan airflow vs Engine Pressure Ratio (EPR) schedule that trims the nozzle position slightly up or down from that 10% nominal number, but it will stay in the 5% to 15% range under normal conditions. The -100/-200 engines trimmed nozzle position to maintain a N1 fan speed to N2 core speed ratio at Intermediate and above, with similar nozzle position results.