Blue stripes on weapons

This particular forum is for everything related to F-16 Armament, fuel tanks, and other stores.
  • Author

ThunderGrunt

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

Unread post29 Sep 2005, 19:01

If an AIM-120 Amrram has blue stripes its a dummy, and if it has the brown/rust color it's live right?

Sorry but I'm still a newbie and I see more blue striped in all the pics than brown.

aokeeffe

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

Unread post29 Sep 2005, 19:38

ThunderGrunt wrote:If an AIM-120 Amrram has blue stripes its a dummy, and if it has the brown/rust color it's live right?

Sorry but I'm still a newbie and I see more blue striped in all the pics than brown.

yes. and its AMRAAM not AMRRAM

ThunderGrunt

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

Unread post29 Sep 2005, 19:49

Thanks

Boman

Elite 1K

Elite 1K

Unread post29 Sep 2005, 20:05

The missiles carrying brown and yellow stripes are live ones, blue striped are dummies, wether 120`s or others.

I believe the yellow line indicates the warhead, while the brown indicates the engine part, but I`m not 100% on this.

aokeeffe

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

Unread post30 Sep 2005, 01:27

Boman wrote:The missiles carrying brown and yellow stripes are live ones, blue striped are dummies, wether 120`s or others.

I believe the yellow line indicates the warhead, while the brown indicates the engine part, but I`m not 100% on this.

that's correct. This is because the rocket motor and the warhear are of course a different type of explosive.

Yellow= High Explosive WH
Brown= low explosive

see http://www.ordnance.org/ammunition_identification.htm

FoxFour

Unread post01 Oct 2005, 14:40

Boman wrote:The missiles carrying brown and yellow stripes are live ones, blue striped are dummies, wether 120`s or others.

Boman - just to "confuse" matters a little, there are dummy missiles with yellow/brown stripes on 'em!