Turbine bypass?

New and old developments in aviation technology.
Elite 3K
Elite 3K

by count_to_10 » 15 Apr 2017, 16:55

I had a thought today, but, not being a jet turbine engineer, I have no real way to gauge how realistic it might be. The thought is that temperatures in jet engines (and thus their efficiency and power) is limited by their turbines, which have to withstand both high heat and high stress. Agmenters/afterburners increase thrust by adding heat after the turbine, at a lower temperature and pressure, reducing efficiency. Additionally, turbines are designed to skim off only a fraction of the power coming out of combustion chamber, so that the rest emerges as thrust (along with the cool bypass air, which is powered by the turbine).

So, could performance be increased by having a portion of the flow out of the combustion chambers bypass the turbine? If you set it up such that this bypass had different combustion chambers than the turbine flow, could you run it richer and hotter, giving you afterburner type performance with better efficiency?

Edit: or maybe this is already being done, and I am just ignorant of it?
Einstein got it backward: one cannot prevent a war without preparing for it.

Uncertainty: Learn it, love it, live it.

Elite 2K
Elite 2K

by KamenRiderBlade » 16 Apr 2017, 12:57

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propfan

Propfan, is that missing solution you wre looking for?

Elite 3K
Elite 3K

by count_to_10 » 16 Apr 2017, 14:30

KamenRiderBlade wrote:https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Propfan

Propfan, is that missing solution you wre looking for?

No. I was talking about taking the fully compressed air to a combustion chamber that bypasses the turbine, burning a variable amount of fuel in that chamber, and sending the air straight out a nozzle for propulsion.

Elite 5K
Elite 5K

by sprstdlyscottsmn » 16 Apr 2017, 16:00

More like a ramjet exhaust?
"Spurts"

-Pilot
-Aerospace Engineer
-Army Medic
-FMS Systems Engineer
-PFD Systems Engineer