F-16 landing procedures

Operating an F-16 on the ground or in the air - from the engine start sequence, over replacing a wing, to aerial refueling procedures
  • Author

Biju

Unread post25 Apr 2006, 10:14

I am a post graduate student of Indian Institute of Science (IISc) India and doing academic project work on automatic landing of F-16 aircraft. Can anyone help me by giving the following information?

(1) Typical landing distances with and without drag chute.
(2) What is the typical landing speed?
(3) At which speed is the aircraft derotated (pitch down) for nose wheel touchdown?
(4) What is the typical pitch angle at touchdown and till the start of derotation?
(5) When is the thrust cutoff?
(6) Which is the braking speed during the ground run?
(7) What are the typical increment in the drag and lift coefficients due to spoilers and airbrakes? When are they activated?
(8) Is reverse thrust employed while landing? Is so what is the value?
(9) What is the value of drag offered by the drag chute?

hansundfranz

Unread post25 Apr 2006, 12:40

1. No clue
2. Anywhere between 170 and 120 knts depending on weight I´d say. fast heavy landdings might be outside the spezifications but still doable
3. Id guess when it becomes impossible to keep the nose up
4.13° AOA
5. No idea
5. same
6. again
7, Airbrakes well before toughdown. Spoilers. It does not have any
8. the F16 does not have reverse thrust
9. beats me

More details stright from the horse mouth here
http://www.codeonemagazine.com/archives ... index.html

Biju

Unread post25 Apr 2006, 15:59

Thanks a lot hansundfranz.

danimal1504

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

Unread post25 Apr 2006, 20:11

I don't know what the minimum landing distance is for sure, but I was once told by a pilot that they wont land on a runway that is less than 6000 ft. but that may be an air force wide safety thing and not something specific to an F-16.

-=[ViPeR]=-

Unread post14 May 2006, 06:47