How to become an F-16 pilot?

So you want to be a Viper driver, mechanic, loader, avionics technician...? Here you will learn that you will need education, hard work and steadfast dedication.
  • Author

Caesar

Unread post16 Dec 2003, 21:32

I love the F-16 Falcon and eversince I was 5 years old I've always dreamed of going into the airforce. Now I am a 16 year old freshman at a small high school in Ohio and all I want to know is what does it take to be a F-16 pilot?

I've kinda messed up my freshman year by only having a 3.7 g.p.a. as of now. And being in a small town we dont have any ROTC or Civil Airpatrol cadet programs, so I sort of feel at a disadvantage. Although I am an honor student and have a good job as a life guard at the local YMCA I really want to know what can I do or should be doing to be a pilot...

Habu

Elite 2K

Elite 2K

Unread post16 Dec 2003, 21:47

Well if you've got the money, you can do anything....

But since you're in HS, and don't have any ROTC programs nearby, get into a college that does. Go to UND, SIU, WMU, or even ERAU if you have to. Or you can do what I did and go to Mt.SAC out here in CA...my alama mater ;) They're one of the few 2-year schools that have an unrivaled aviation program and flying team. They also have an ROTC program, and have an agreement with SIU to get you bachelor's degree in aviation management. A bachaelors being required to be a pilot.

And of course, there's always the Academy. Another suggestion would be to get your private pilot's license before you get into the AF. Why? Because all the AF is gonna do is send you right back out to a civilian flight school to get it. Only the USAFA does initial flight trainning from the start. All the flyign services are doing it now, sending you to a regular FBO to get your FAA license, save the Academy and the Army chopper jocks.
Good luck!
Do your homework, Tiger!

ysslah

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

Unread post17 Dec 2003, 01:39