Energy Maneuverability Theory

New and old developments in aviation technology.
  • Author

FutureFlyer06

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

Unread post03 Dec 2004, 01:43

Hi everyone. I'm currently a high school in sophomore and I am looking to write a report as extra credit for my physics class since I might need it to make an A for the semester. In the summer I began to read <a href="aviation_books_book3117.html">Boyd: The Fighter Pilot Who Changed the Art of War</a> by Robert Coram.

It was very interesting, but I never got the chance to finish the book before the school year began. Once it did, factors such as academics and athletics did not grant me the time to finish reading it. I read just a little bit about his "Energy Maneuverability Theory" which I have often heard as changing the art of air combat.

The thing is I really don't know what this "theory" is about. I know it has something to do with thermodynamics so I think it could be applicable to my report. I would really appreciate it if anyone with a knowledge of aerodynamics could explain this theory to me and why it is so pivotal to air combat or if anyone could provide me with links that do explain it thoroughly.

Your help would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

Dammerung

Unread post03 Dec 2004, 01:48

Code: Select all
Ps = [u][T-D][/u]V
               W

habu2

Elite 2K

Elite 2K

Unread post03 Dec 2004, 05:57

Can't write the report for ya, best go read that book all the way through.
Reality Is For People Who Can't Handle Simulation

Gums

Elite 1K

Elite 1K

Unread post03 Dec 2004, 18:55

Salute, young man!

First, thermo is prolly your first semester or two for the aero degree. All kindsa stuff about entropy, gas laws, etc. Only then do you get to lift, drag, motors, stability, etc.

Second, STBYGAIN and Cylon can explain the energy doofer better than most of us as they use it all the time. I'll give it a try.