Last ex RNLAF F-16s delivered to FAChile

Discuss F-16 events, special versions and paintschemes, serial numbers, ...
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

maurits

Newbie

Newbie

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: 28 May 2004, 15:02

Unread post30 Aug 2011, 15:21

Hi all,

Yesterday the last 5 F-16s left Volkel AB to their new home Antofagasta/Chile.
6 a/c should leave but one was u/s (again J-627, also last April).
The following a/c departed at 10.30hrs LT: J-203,J-365,J-620,J-874 and J-875. The latter was adorned with a special tail "Chile II- We did it again''.

Here some shots.
Image
Image
Image


Regards,

Maurits
Offline

Meteor

Active Member

Active Member

  • Posts: 236
  • Joined: 14 May 2007, 19:46
  • Location: Southlake, TX and West Yellowstone, MT

Unread post30 Aug 2011, 17:57

Why no centerline 300?

Who is providing the refueling?
F-4C/D, F-16A/B/C/D, 727, DC-10, MD-80, A321
Offline
User avatar

LinkF16SimDude

Elite 2K

Elite 2K

  • Posts: 2500
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2004, 19:18
  • Location: SW Tenn.

Unread post30 Aug 2011, 18:20

Volkel to Antofagasta: Just a tick over 6900nm. Good thing they do it in multiple legs. The Viper's seat may be relatively comfy compared to other jets but I don't think I'd wanna spend over 14 hours in a poopy suit over that much water! Yikes!!

(Map from Great Circle Mapper)
Attachments
chile_trip.JPG
Last edited by LinkF16SimDude on 30 Aug 2011, 19:02, edited 6 times in total.
Offline
User avatar

LinkF16SimDude

Elite 2K

Elite 2K

  • Posts: 2500
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2004, 19:18
  • Location: SW Tenn.

Unread post30 Aug 2011, 18:41

Meteor wrote:Who is providing the refueling?

Just a WAG but I'd say they're own KDC-10 leaves with 'em and they get handed over to FaCh tankers somewhere during the trip. But I'm not a planner, so what do I know? :wink:
Why does "monosyllabic" have 5 syllables?
Offline

wysongj

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 21 May 2008, 13:43

Unread post31 Aug 2011, 01:20

Why is North America and central America missing from the globe?
Offline
User avatar

LinkF16SimDude

Elite 2K

Elite 2K

  • Posts: 2500
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2004, 19:18
  • Location: SW Tenn.

Unread post31 Aug 2011, 01:53

Global Warming? :lol: :wink: Dunno. You'd think if they took the time to print what's there they'd just go ahead and add the missing pieces. :shrug:
Why does "monosyllabic" have 5 syllables?
Offline

Boman

Elite 1K

Elite 1K

  • Posts: 1474
  • Joined: 08 Jul 2004, 19:22
  • Location: Norway

Unread post31 Aug 2011, 06:51

wysongj wrote:Why is North America and central America missing from the globe?


When looking at the entire globe, north and central america lies further west than south america. Hence, when you do a selected clip of the area like they have done, those parts fall naturally outside the selected area.

So this is pure mother natures location of the continents :wink:
Offline
User avatar

LinkF16SimDude

Elite 2K

Elite 2K

  • Posts: 2500
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2004, 19:18
  • Location: SW Tenn.

Unread post01 Sep 2011, 16:23

Boman wrote:When looking at the entire globe, north and central america lies further west than south america. Hence, when you do a selected clip of the area like they have done, those parts fall naturally outside the selected area.

:wtf: So if everything west of the 85W meridian is outta play and their map clearly goes as far north as Scandinavia, then where is the US East Coast or the Canadian Maritimes? They could have clipped everything west of 90W and still have been accurate AND still inside the print space. Just sayin'.... (Am I obsessing too much on this? :lol: )
Attachments
maps.jpg
Offline

JetTest

Forum Veteran

Forum Veteran

  • Posts: 565
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2007, 00:22

Unread post01 Sep 2011, 16:38

The map cut looks pretty accurate for a flat projection of a spherical object. If you look closely you should see that the southwest extremity of the land-mass in the upper left corner is Connecticut, so that would make the upper right portion of that same land-mass the "missing" Maritimes. Maybe some geography and map-reading classes are in order for some?
Offline
User avatar

LinkF16SimDude

Elite 2K

Elite 2K

  • Posts: 2500
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2004, 19:18
  • Location: SW Tenn.

Unread post02 Sep 2011, 04:12

Just so we're clear, I'm talking about THIS map that appears on the F-16 fin

Image

NOT the one I posted from Great Circle Mapper. The fin map has an entire continent missing that should be there (at least parts of it anyway). That's what I'm sayin'.
Why does "monosyllabic" have 5 syllables?
Offline

JetTest

Forum Veteran

Forum Veteran

  • Posts: 565
  • Joined: 04 Jul 2007, 00:22

Unread post02 Sep 2011, 05:31

Maybe because it was a direct sale between the RNLAF and Chile?
Offline
User avatar

LinkF16SimDude

Elite 2K

Elite 2K

  • Posts: 2500
  • Joined: 31 Jan 2004, 19:18
  • Location: SW Tenn.

Unread post02 Sep 2011, 16:09

Perhaps. But it doesn't explain why the likes of Saudi and India and Ethiopia are on there. I guess they had they're reasons for dropping an entire continent. Let's get back :ontopic:
Why does "monosyllabic" have 5 syllables?

Return to F-16 Spotting & Photography

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests