F-35 and Geography

Program progress, politics, orders, and speculation

by illya » 01 Nov 2019, 13:05

Hello ;

I think this is the right place to ask this question, but if not, then I apologize in advance.
I am a third-year student in political geography, and I am writing a paper on the American defence industry. I chose the example of Lockheed Martin and more specifically the F-35 program. I am interested in the geographical and political aspects of this program, both for Lockheed Martin and for the United States.

You can easily understand why I have decided to humbly ask for your assistance.

Suppliers are located in almost all states of the United States. The senators of these states must support this program, guaranteeing its security. Beyond that, I don't have many sources. I have the impression that it is possible to dig further, but I don't have enough elements.

Do you know where I could find information?

Perhaps there are particular states where there has been a local political conflict over the F-35?

Thank you for your attention:)

Elite 3K
Elite 3K

by madrat » 01 Nov 2019, 13:26

The program benefits by not farming out to any one sole source, so I'm not understanding your question. Free market forces drive down costs by allowing competition on obfuscated parts manufacturing. Strict specs. Lockheed Martin keeps manufacturer's abreast of specifications, but not necessarily where the smaller parts go or why. Subcontractors bid to assemble parts into larger sub-assemblies along the way that are strictly based upon specifications. Obsfucation adds security and keys into market forces to drive down costs.

Elite 5K
Elite 5K

by spazsinbad » 01 Nov 2019, 13:48

Obsfucation? Could you find a better word please? I don't think it is appropriate in context used. Otherwise please explain.

The LM F-35 website has a lot of info:
https://www.f35.com/about/economic-impact & https://www.f35.com/about/economic-impact-map
Attachments
USstatesF-35impactMap.jpg