Help wanted, placement of ALQ-131!!

Discuss technique and post photographs of your work in progress
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

bk974

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2009, 18:16
  • Location: Straumen, Norway

Unread post26 Dec 2009, 19:34

I am building an RNoAF f-16, and will have an ALQ-131 on station 5. Here is the question. Is the pod simply put on the pylon for the centerline tank? Is the pylon placed on this pylon with an adapter? Or does it have its own special pylon that goes on station 5?

Hoping for a quick answer...
FAW
Offline
User avatar

JoeSambor

Forum Veteran

Forum Veteran

  • Posts: 822
  • Joined: 28 Dec 2004, 05:56

Unread post27 Dec 2009, 00:59

The -131 pod has its own special adapter.

Pretty good picture here http://www.vipersinthestorm.com/assets/ ... 1_Podt.JPG

And here...http://www.es.northropgrumman.com/solut ... alq131.jpg

And of course here...http://www.f-16.net/gallery_item46026.html

Really good picture here...http://www.baha.be/Webpages/Navigator/N ... Q131_A.jpg

ECM Pod adapters are required for F-16 A/B aircraft, due to ground clearance issues...however, some 131 pods could be flown on C/D models with the universal C/L adapter or the ECM Pod adapter. For your build, you will have to use the ECM pod adapter to be accurate.

Best Regards,
Joe Sambor
LM Aero Field Service Engineer
Woensdrecht Logistics Center, The Netherlands
Offline

bk974

Enthusiast

Enthusiast

  • Posts: 96
  • Joined: 07 Nov 2009, 18:16
  • Location: Straumen, Norway

Unread post27 Dec 2009, 05:18

Thank You! Those pictures made it all clear!
FAW

Return to Work in Progress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest