Air Force Skills on a Resume

Looking to change career fields or contemplating to request a new assignment? Here's where you find out if the grass really is greener on the other side...

by AmmoCapt » 17 May 2006, 17:42

As I am quite sure you are all aware, I need to dust off my Resume (I suggest you all update yours as well since its good to have it ready).

Anyhow, I was writing down some of my skills/abilities, and after I got past writing that I have been a Snack-O expert and that sort of thing, I got to thinking (a stretch I know).

Anyhow, I was wondering how we can translate some of the training that we have done into things to put on a resume.

An example is how we could write the fact that we took our IAAT (Information Security) and write it in civilian terms.

I would like to create something of a data-base here where we can list the things that we do in every day Air Force life that might be useful in the outside world.

Another example of this would be those of us who give crew briefings each day, or brief the squadron, could call that ability public speaking. That sort of thing.

Chime in if you have any! :thanks:

by Lurch » 17 May 2006, 18:05

Just some things on my resume:

F-16 Tactical Aircraft Technician, United State Air Force August 1989 - November 1993
• Completed routine and unscheduled inspections, repairs, maintenance,
troubleshooting, and servicing on tactical aircraft hydraulic, jet engine,
pneumatic and mechanical systems.
• Crew Chief to the 307th FS Commander’s aircraft.
• 1992 307th FS Maintenance Professional of the Year.
• Three USAF Achievement Medals/Gulf War Veteran.
• Honor Graduate through BMT/Technical School.
Crew Chief
Torrejon 614th Lucky Devils 87-0248
Homestead/Moody 307th Stingers 89-2054 (Comander's CC)

Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran

by JoeSambor » 17 May 2006, 21:31