Desired Bachelors Degree for F-16 pilot

So you want to be an F-35, mechanic, loader, avionics technician...? Here you will learn that you will need education, hard work and steadfast dedication. (Note: This used to be the F-16 crew forum)

by thunderbolt89 » 03 Jul 2005, 09:26

I’m a Mechanical Engineering major at Auburn University, and I have always been told that Aeronautical Engineering is the desirable degree for Flying in the Air Force. The only problem is, Aeronautical Engineering is not the best degree for finding jobs outside of the military. Work is only available for limited time and few slots are usually open. My question is, should I switch my major to Aeronautical Eng. before ROTC or will the Mech. Eng. suit me just fine in the long run, as far as flying goes?

by MATMACWC » 03 Jul 2005, 16:02

ehhh, I dunno about that. I was an Electrical Engineer and I have buddies that were History majors.....and we all fly F-16's. I did the ROTC route; the faculty looks and your grades, military aptitude, physical performance before recommending to the Air Force what you should do for a job. Are you already in ROTC or are you planning OTS? On top of everything it sucks to say, but you gotta have a backup plan if the flying thing doens't work out, but I think you already have your answer for that.

by thunderbolt89 » 03 Jul 2005, 18:53

Ya I have a back up plan. I My dads an Electrical Engineer who would be willing to give me a job with his business, but I would rather not work for my father .... I would start ROTC in the fall, but id have to stay in school another year (planned on going to OTS) which is not all bad so I can spread things out a bit. I’m aware of the competition for the flying positions....I think I’m ok with the school, idk how I couldn’t be. Could you give me some examples of how I would have to physically perform? Also, if you could do it over again would you go the OTS route?

by MATMACWC » 03 Jul 2005, 19:26