Preparing for the AFOQT

So you want to be an F-35, mechanic, loader, avionics technician...? Here you will learn that you will need education, hard work and steadfast dedication. (Note: This used to be the F-16 crew forum)

by thedroidyouarelookingfor » 30 Oct 2009, 19:49

I am currently a student at MIT and am wanting to enroll in my school's detachment in hopes of being able to pilot. I was told that this test is very similar to the SAT and SAT II and I could properly gauge how well I'd do on the AFOQT based on my scores from the college placement tests. I find that hard to believe and would think the only comparison between them is that they are standardized tests. Is there any information any of you who have taken this test can divulge to me? Thank you.

by thedroidyouarelookingfor » 06 Nov 2009, 04:14

Is there anyone who can answer my questions?

Enthusiast
Enthusiast

by ang4me » 06 Nov 2009, 04:46

I'm yet to take the AFOQT, but I would think that if you do well on other standardized tests, then you are perfectly capable of doing well on the AFOQT too. But that doesn't mean don't study for it, because if you're not already a pilot, it's likely not material with which you're at all familiar. Buy a book and study up, that's my only advice.

Also worth reading:
http://www.baseops.net/afoqt/

by MechFromHell » 06 Nov 2009, 07:13

The verbal and math are very similar to those other tests. In fact, the GRE and GMAT study guides are some of the best to study when prepping for the AFOQT's math sections. You will need to get specific study guides for reviewing the pilot and nav sections though. :evil:
Crew Chief
Mountain Home AFB 2000-2005~91-0370
Sheppard AFB 2005-2009~F-16 Instr
Kadena AB 2009-2015
Holloman AFB 2015-Now

by ruderamronbo » 06 Nov 2009, 21:14